The Preble County Probate Court issues marriage licenses to Preble County, Ohio residents who wish to marry in the State of Ohio. The Probate Court is the sole agency, under the laws of the State of Ohio that is vested with the authority to issue marriage licenses.
Requirements for Marriage License
The following are the minimum requirements for every applicant. Please see the Probate Local Rules for the added requirements for minor applicants:
- Both applicants must be present at the time of application.
- At least one applicant must be a resident of Preble County.
- The fee for the license is $70–cash or check only.
- Applicants must have a valid photo ID (i.e. driver’s license).
- Applicants may present birth certificates (used for spelling of mother’s maiden name).
- If either applicant has been married before, the Final Decree of Divorce or Dissolution for all prior marriages must be presented. Each Decree should have the proper stamps and signatures showing it is an official court document.
- If either applicant is a widow or widower, a Death Certificate is required.
- Marriage licenses are valid for 60 days after the date issued.
- The applicants must swear, or affirm that all information provided is true, correct and complete and sign their full name on the application.
- The bottom portion of your marriage license needs to be filled out by the official performing the ceremony and returned to the court within 31 days of the ceremony.
- Once the bottom portion of the license is returned, the court can then provide a certified copy of your marriage license upon request.
- The fee for each certified copy of your license is $2.00/copy.
- You must contact the officiator of your choice and make prior arrangements for him/her to perform the marriage.
- Probate Court cannot register a minister to solemnize the marriage. This is done through the Ohio Secretary of State. This information can be obtained from their website at sos.state.oh.us/records/minister-licenses/